Bookworm.

Ever since the BF got our iPad, I have rediscovered reading- sort of a sad statement, really, but true. So… in case you need some reading inspo, here are the books I have read in the past 6ish months:

books

1) Brain On Fire – A true story about a young 20-something woman who fights “crazy” and death for a month before being successfully diagnosed, treated, and healed enough to write her story.  Definitely recommend.
Amazon Rating: 4.5/5

2) Wonder This is a sweet and sometimes a little sad book about a young boy born with facial deformity. Makes you realize how easy most of us have it. Told through multiple people’s perspective.
Amazon Rating: 4.8/5

3) Life of Pi – Read before the movie. The movie does a fairly good job of keeping to the storyline but the book is obviously better because it goes into way more detail. If you haven’t seen the movie, I recommend holding off and reading the book first. THEN see the movie in 3D.
Amazon Rating: 4.2/5

4) The Art of Racing In The Rain – After not really digging the opening sample of this book, I decided to give it another try and was pleasantly surprised. This story is narrated through the eyes of the family dog who is super ____________ and desperately wants to be a human.  Im pretty sure this will be a movie soon enough.  Great animal-lover book.
Amazon Rating: 4.6/5

5) Gone GirlAnother book that will most likely be a movie soon. Crazy murder mystery with a surprise twist at the end! Easy read and perfect for your next vacation/beach trip.
Amazon Rating: 3.8/5

6) Glass Castle- This is an autobiography describing the author’s unique, nomadic childhood. It was okay but kind of depressing at times.
Amazon Rating: 4.6/5

7) I Can Barely Take Care Of Myself This was the first book where I didn’t read the “sample” before I downloaded it. That was probably a mistake. While I happen to love Jennifer Kirkman in Funny or Die’s Drunk History, and I agree with her on almost all of her (humorous but genuine) reasons, I wouldn’t really recommend this book… she drove home her points a little to hard for a little too long. We get it. You don’t want kids.
Amazon Rating: 4.3/5

8) Defending Jacob – Twisty murder-mystery about a DA who ends up working a murder of a boy at his son’s school. The last quarter of the book or so gets super intense! I kept yelling “OH MY GOSH!” and having to stop to tell the BF what happened. It was like that.
Amazon Rating: 4.3/5

9) Seriously… I’m Kidding  – I’m a huge fan of Ellen and I guess I expected her book to be on par with Chelsea Handler (If you haven’t read her books, get on it before reading any of the books in this list – so. funny.). This book is written in sort of a stream-of-thought style which is humorous but not hilarious. My favorite part was the letter to the mall security towards the end. This book would probably make a better audio book (which is also available).
Amazon Rating: 3.8/5

10) Currently reading: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?Just started this one. I think Mindy is so cute and funny so I hope this book is, too!
Amazon Rating: 4.3/5

11) Need to eventually finish: The Power of Habit – good book about how your brain creates habits. It’s been moved down my priority list… I’ll finish it eventually.

Not Pictured:

great gatsbyGreat Gatsby – Just like everyone else, I read this book in high school but wanted a quick reminder before the movie. (have yet to see it but love Baz Lurhman stuff! (ex: Moulin Rouge! and Romeo + Juliet).
Amazon Rating: 4.2/5

dave ramseyThe Total Money Makeover (on CD) – The BF recommended this one to me. Great way to remind yourself that being “financially fit” is important. Easy, actionable step-by-step guide to financial health.
Amazon Rating: 4.5/5

Comment with any other books you recommend! I am always looking for something new and worth it!!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Bookworm.

  1. merrychristin says:

    Here are some random recs 🙂 Bossy Pants by Tina Fey, The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold, The Black Dahlia by James Ellroy, The Hunger Games trilogy, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo trilogy, ROOM by Emma Donoghue

    • MaunderingMe says:

      Have read Bossy Pants, Hunger Games trilogy, and Girl with the Dragon Tattoo trilogy – loved them all 🙂 Look forward to adding the rest to my list! Thanks, Christin!

  2. Whitney says:

    If you’re looking for some compelling fiction, The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy and The History of Love by Nicole Krauss are both compelling, beautiful and haunting stories!

  3. I recently read The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton and liked it. (I’ve read a lot of the books you have, so many you will enjoy it too.) Unbroken by Lauren Hillenbrand was amazing. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen, The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom, The Divergent series by Veronica Roth if you liked the Hunger Games (the 3rd one comes out this fall, and they are making a movie),The Help by Kathryn Stockett, Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay, and The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Oh and How Did You Get This Number by Sloane Crosley. Okay I’m sure that was overwhelming. But I really enjoyed every one of these books. 🙂 Happy reading!

    • MaunderingMe says:

      Unbroken, The Kitchen House, Divergent series, and The Fault in Our Stars are on my list already! Sounds like we have very similar taste in books – will definitely add the other ones to my ever-growing list. Thank you thank you! I definitely have a full summer of reading ahead of me!

Leave a Reply

