Tuesday Dudesday: Google Alerts.

Google Stuff Yourself? Who has time for that?

Is that phrase still going on? “I ain’t got time for that” – I don’t know. I don’t really keep up with the latest pop culture references but my Facebook friends sure do – thanks for keeping me in the loop guys – what would I do without you.

Anywho.

Google Alerts. Heard of em?

google_alerts copy

Well if you haven’t they are pretty sweeeeeeeeet.  They basically search the internet for whatever phrase you indicate and give you the latest back to your inbox. That might not seem that awesome but that’s because I haven’t show you what’s behind door number 3 …

Say I am a band and I want to know when my band is mentioned on the web o sphere.  I would just go to: http://www.google.com/alerts enter in my band name, fill out the other criteria (see above), and viola – alerts sent to my inbox containing any mentions about my band. You can even search a specific site for a phrase – like Craigslist for the term “photographer”.  You would use a query like this: “photography OR photographer site:http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/ OR site:http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/nva/”

Hope this can be useful for you!

PS for my narcissists out there you can also Google your own name to make an alert about yourself

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

