Its Karma.

Happy Dudesday Tuesday!

This Dudesday Tuesday is inspired by MY dude and his financial acumen.

The BF is super good with his money and I try to be more like him – but it’s hard… I love shopping online! In his efforts to get me straightened out, he introduced me to Mint.com and I have become a HUGE fan – if you don’t use it, do it.

mint

After connecting all your accounts, loans, credit cards, assets, everything, the site breaks down your financial situation into ways that are easy to understand and totally visual (think pie charts, line charts, etc). It also allows you to set up financial goals which I love.

$.$.$

BF also introduced me to the book “I Will Teach You To Be Rich” by Ramit Sethi.I actually haven’t finished it yet because I’m still stuck paying off some debt, reaching some savings goals, etc. but it is a great step-by-step guide to get your $$ in order.

teach you to be rich

What I like about this book is the author speaks in plain English about finances, giving you clear actionable steps to opening better bank accounts, reducing debt, and starting your savings and path to being rich.  I also get his emails – which, honestly, I don’t always read but skim when I feel they’re applicable.  They can be helpful and… I THINK it was one of the emails that led me to CreditKarma.

$.$.$

I actually introduced the BF to CreditKarma which I’m pretty proud of.  It reminds me in a lot of ways of Mint.com but it is a free website that will not only give you your credit score, but it has different visuals (again, linegraphs, etc) breaking down the different aspects of your score and explain why it is what it is. It also allows you to create different scenarios and see how they would affect your score (ex: missing a payment, etc).

CreditKarma

So if you haven’t taken a look at your credit recently, I definitely recommend checking this website out. It may be a great way to get your finances in order in 2013!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Its Karma.

  1. Jessica says:

    if you enjoy credit karma you should check out credit sesame it pulls from a different bureau than credit karma so it gives you a more rounded look at your score!

  2. bhardeman says:

    Thanks for mentioning Credit Karma! Glad you’re digging it.

Leave a Reply

