Seedy Snack.

I just wanted to let you know that chia seeds – yeah, the same chi as the commercial “Chi-Chi-Chi-ChiiIIAA” work very nicely in sugar free Jell-O.

Chia seeds are supposed to be super healthy for you. According to the Washingtonian, “One serving size includes 18 percent of recommended daily calcium and four grams of protein, and they are a great source of fiber and potassium—plus they’re low in cholesterol and sodium.”

There are all these recipes out there – you can add them to smoothies, soups, pretty much anything. So, after discovering that sugar-free jello is allowed in our “4 Hour Body” slow-carb diet, the natural thing to do was to combine the two. BF, who previously LOATHED Jell-O, and I are on day 2 enjoying them and he keeps telling me that I just HAVE to share this tasty/healthy discovery:

So here’s what I did to make the chia Jell-O Jigglers… I basically followed the regular Jell-O Jiggler recipe.

Add 2 TBSP of seeds to 1 cup water – let sit for about 15-20 minutes or so (I let them sit
in my big measuring cup/pitcher thing) – go shower, throw in some laundry, whatever. The seeds will form this weird seedy gel-like concoction.


Add water to the seed gel stuff so that there is a total of about 2.5 or 2.75 cups – then
microwave until it boils-ish (I microwaved for 4-5 min)

Add 2 packs of Sugar Free Jell-O – the bigger box that has 8 servings (I used
Cherry). And STIR. Stir a lot. I found this crazy nasty gel clump at the bottom that I had
to stir the crap out of to get it to go away. A whisk is a good tool for this.

After that, pour your jello-seed mix into a greased pan and put in the fridge.

Once cold/hardened, the texture of the jello is slightly thicker than a regular jello jiggler. This whole concept – or may be just the idea of Jell-O – may sound gross… but they were actually really good! And good for you Warning:  While Jell-O jigglers are technically “finger food,” these guys made my finger bright red- like back in college after a night of Jell-O
shots! I supposed it’s the nature of the beast.

I may experiment with the water a little more – but in general, I feel like it was rather a success! (I’ve realized with this posting what should’ve been very obvious – Jell-O does not photograph well…)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

