Observational.

I love art. I love seeing other people’s art and inspiration. The site I’d like to show you today shows you glimpses into an artist’s sketchbook and the high fashion world.


What I Saw Today displays men’s fashions through the eyes of the artist Richard Haines. In fact, his sketches have become pretty famous and he’s been featured in lots of fashion magazines, brands, etc.

I seriously love the way he sketches. I don’t know what it is. I think I really appreciate the confident, dark pencil strokes- (vs. those bullshit noncommittal sketch lines that most people/artists (including myself) find themselves doing). He definitely seems to capture not only the clothing but the overall vibe of each of his models.

Although Haines’ niche – or at least what he’s known for – is men’s fashion, he does do other subjects as well (including women and nakies (my “back to childhood” term for naked people)).

If I were one of those models I would for SURE want a copy of myself that he’s done… hell, if I was MYSELF I’d want a copy of his work – even if it WASN’T  me. Too bad he doesn’t do poster-size (and poor-girl budgets). I could totally see some of his stuff being potential “soulmate art” for my place.

What do you think? Do you love this as much as I do?!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Observational.

  1. Cathy says:

    Cool, in-your-face sketching! I like it!

  2. designerman says:

    thanks for the great write up-love what you said and how you describe my work-‘noncommittal’ sketching does in fact make me crazy-it’s so unsure and apologetic-thank you for ‘getting’ me so well in so few words!

  3. […] Maundering Me Maunderings, Wanderings, and Ponderings of a Girl Out to Discover Skip to content Home ← Observational. […]

Leave a Reply

