Understand this.

So I admit. I find myself listening to that radio station that plays the same 6 songs over and over. As a result, I notice that I can sing along to most of the songs – even if a) I’m not paying attention to what they’re/I’m saying (see Blues Traveler’s “Hook” or b) I am singing (or attempting to say) what the artist is – with no thought as to what they actually mean.

This website is designed to help those of you out there who are struggling with problem b. Okay… so I take that back. It probably won’t help. But if you’re at least looking for something entertaining – and often humorous–  check it out.

It’s called:



Understand Rap (don’t you just love their logo/look!?) is a website that takes lines from rap songs and “translates” them into concepts that the average person  (or, more accurately, people like your mother and grandmother (as the website’s book title so nicely explains))… can understand.

I think my favorite part about this website is when they choose to explain phrases that are not only totally obvious, but seem to be written by a 68 year old female high school english teacher! It’s seriously awesome.

Example:

I think that last one is one of my favorites…she pales in comparison to the woman that I am courting.” How can you not get at least a chuckle out of that!?

Not only can you view explanations, you can also explain OR ask what lyrics mean. Check out the book, too! I think it could make a great coffee table book or even a gift for any of your friends/family with a sense of humor.

Try your hand at an explanation! Or maybe you’ve been wondering what that one rapper was trying to say? Either way… what are some of your favorite explanations?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

