DIY or bust!

Happy Cinco de Mayo!! Do you have any plans? (Do you even know what it is?- here’s a quick explanation from a fellow blogger) I think tonight BF and I and a few of our friends are going to join the rest of the population in a 15 mile radius at one of our two local mexican restaurants and have a some chips and salsa, coronas, and maybe a jumbo margarita for mee!

So I guess today is “later in the week.” I’ll go ahead and show you the other DIY project I finally finished over the weekend:




I made busts. You know…. like classical Greek busts – only mine are made out of 1″ cheapo wood I found at Lowes.

I got this DIY idea/tutorial off of Design*Sponge ( one of my top 5 favorite sites!). The instructions were really easy to follow! I actually ended up blowing up the stencil to something a little bigger than what it asked for.  I definitely recommend having a person there to hold the wood if you also decide to jigsaw your wood on something as … rudimentary as your dining room chair (placed in the middle of the living room).  Once I had cut out the first one, I decided that BF needed a boy one so that he didn’t feel left out when I put the bust on the wall… so basically I cut off the pony tail and the bump on top. He turned out a little… helmet-headish but its okay.

Originally, these busts were created to hold jewelry (see below) but… I really like how they look plain, too. It’s hard to tell from the photo but they’re pure white and super shiny. They’d look AWESOME against a gray (or any other color I suppose) wall! I especially like how they are a little out from the wall! Adds dimension.

Here’s the girl bust with some of my necklaces:

I think that whoever thought of this idea should get a high five! The busts turned out really great and I can’t wait to find a permanent home for them in my house!

Have any favorite DIY project or website?! I’m always looking for new inspiration!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “DIY or bust!

  1. Cathy says:

    Awesome, Em! Good for you for finishing and they look great!

  2. Matt says:

    You are so crafty! You should put a hat on his.

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by whataboutem. whataboutem said: today on my blog: the other DIY project i finished over the weekend. Idea/how-to via @designsponge http://wp.me/pH2X4-EQ […]

Leave a Reply

