It’s what’s for dinner.

How come it seems like it was JUST Monday like… two days ago!?
Gosh. Time sure flys when you’re paying the bills.

Today’s website of the day is actually one that I’m sure most of you have run across while googling a recipe…


The reason that I am sharing this website with you is because… All Recipes provided me with an AWESOME new recipe on that I tried over the weekend: Lettuce Wraps!



I have loved lettuce wraps since high school, when my best friend took me to PF Changs and introduced me to their gloriousness. Since then, I have discovered that The Cheesecake Factory and Red Star Tavern also have very delicious lettuce wraps. But… I decided I wanted to make my own.

This recipe was rather easy. The ingredient list is straight forward… The only thing we changed was the vinegar and the beef. We used white vinegar instead of the rice vinegar and swapped out the ground beef for some chopped chicken – we thought was closer to the restaurant style lettuce wraps (plus, that’s what we had in the fridge). In the end, the meal was DELICIOUS! Definitely something we’re going to have to make again.

One of my favorite parts about All Recipes is the fact that all the recipes are rated by people who have tried the recipe. There is also a huge list of comments/reviews which include what people liked, didn’t like, what they changed & etc. It’s helpful to have hints from other cooks so that you can avoid making the mistakes that they made.

For the iPhone users out there, All Recipes has an App! It’s a “Dinner Spinner,” where you can select the dish type (ex: appetizer, soup, entree, bread…), then the main ingredient you want: cheese, veggies, beef, chicken..) and how long you want to prepare it for (“20 min or less,” “45 min or less,” “any”…). Then BAM! it gives you the choices! I especially like this app when I am at the grocery store because all the ingredients are right in front of me so I can make sure I get everything I need. The app also allows you to “favorite” meals and email them.



Some of my “favorited” recipes include:

Brie Cranberry and Chicken Pizza (I precook the crust a little so it doesnt get soggy… and use not quite as much cranberry jelly as they call for (note JELLY. not RELISH- its not as… wet). Also, a sprinkling of garlic salt doesn’t hurt)

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup (I use less corn than it calls for… and you don’t have to precook the chicken. I ususally just cube it and throw it in.)

Chicken Salad with Couscous (This makes a great side more than a great entree. It gets kinda… overwhelming eating it as a main course.)

Do you use All Recipes? What are some of your favorite things to cook? I’m always looking for new ideas!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “It’s what’s for dinner.

  1. TSG says:

    I couldn’t find how else to contact you.
    Anyways, I discovered a website today and thought of you. I think you should suggest it to your readers. It’s evernote.com.
    I don’t want to spoil it here and think it’d be great if you did an entry on it. 🙂

    • MaunderingMe says:

      Thank you! My BF is OBSESSED with Evernote (I’m pretty sure he even has the iPhone app)! I should look into it more… I bet that website would be perfect to organize all the nifty websites I find! Thanks for the suggestion! I love hearing about what other people out there have discovered!

  2. […] of recipes, after a total fail at trying to make one, I am a little weary about trying them out. All Recipes is usually my go-to with reviews, comments, etc. BUT – I just discovered what seems to be a good […]

Leave a Reply

