A tradition begins…

Well… It’s Monday again. Mundane Monday. boo!

As promised, I want to show you what Jeremy and I made each other for Valentines Day! This year it was a DIY Valentines-  a tradition starting now. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to finish my main present by yesterday but… I gave it to Jerm unfinished, promising that I’d get it done as soon as I get more gray #9… (you’ll understand that last comment in a min..)

So… it’s going to be a little different today. I’m going to show you my two projects as well as the sources of inspiration.

First, the “card:”



Yep. There it is. I got this idea from A Breath of Frake-Air who found a tutorial on Paper n Stitch (a SUPER cute blog full of DIYs). I switched it up a little bit and, instead of stamping the letters, I puffy painted. A very LONG process but I found that even fabric markers bled in the ribbon and looked totally crappy. Also, the tutorial makes it look like you can fit your whole “love letter” (I wrote a little poem) into one roll of ribbon. Not the case. I used four. 32 FEET! But I love the way it turned out!

Aaaand… the “main” present (unfinished):



I’ve actually been wanting to do this project since I saw a home with a similar painting in Apartment Therapy (I have the picture saved as inspiration somewhere.. can’t find it right now..). A DIY on Design*Sponge, as well as Amazing Artists Eric Daigh and Sean Kenney also gave me inspiration.

To make this “mosaic” or “pixel” project as easy as possible, I actually used a tutorial that was intended to be used to make a pattern for cross stitching. Following the tutorial, I mosaic-ed the image then broke it down into 15 shades of gray. After that,  I collected paint color strips from various hardware stores- they were really nice about giving me what strips they had… Unfortunately, I’m totally out of gray #9 until the store restocks (boo!). I cut the strips into 1″ squares, put them in their designated baggies (see above image), then glued them according to the grid I made. All of this was rather tedious but is making assembly process fairly painless.

When complete, the “mosaic,” measuring 50″x30″, should look something like this:




The further away you are (or if you squint), the clearer you can see the pic. Personally, I can’t wait to see the finished product! (And I will for sure show you once I’m done!).

And that’s what I did for Jerm for Valentines Day.

Along with sweet little things and a DELISH dinner, Jeremy made me this painting:




How adorbs is that (sorry about the glare from the flash…)!? Its his heart before and after he met me. Love it. It kind of reminds me of The Grinch’s heart in “How The Grinch Stole Christmas.” (but in a good way…)! I seriously love it! Already have a frame for it and everything. Isn’t he the best?!

How was YOUR Valentines weekend (Or “Singles Appreciation” weekend)?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “A tradition begins…

  1. christin says:

    i LOVE you guys. incredibly adorable 🙂 i have been wanting to do a mosaic of a photoshop image that i made awhile back… you may have finally inspired and motivated me, em!

  2. Jessie says:

    That’s so awesome! Can’t wait to see how it turns out! The box poem idea and his painting are also very cute. You two seem too perfect for each other!. =)

  3. Kristen says:

    Oh my gosh, that mosaic is so cool! You’re so clever and crafty – it looks like it wouldn’t be too hard to do. How long did it take you?

    • MaunderingMe says:

      It’s def not HARD- just tedious. Like.. making the grid, collecting all the swatches, and cutting those bad boys… none of those were a “fun” activity, per say, but putting it together is fun- watching it slowly turn into a pic!

  4. Clare says:

    Holy crapoli Emily! You are a rock star!! You need to open an etsy shop with all of your awesome crafts!

    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  5. MaunderingMe says:

    OH! For those of you who care, I found the other link for the “pixel art” inspiration: http://livablemachine.blogspot.com/2009/09/diy-cubism.html

  6. […] dang “pixel art” slash “mosaic” –  you know… the one that was supposed to be given to BF for Valentines Day!? Yes. I know. It only took 2.5 months to finish… but the thing is, a VERY crucial shade of […]

  7. sherli says:

    tell me about the background for this piece… what did you glue the pieces on? and where did you find it? how did you know what size to get the board?

  8. […] rule for Valentines Day presents, which started a few years back, is that the gift has to be handmade. I seriously love this rule mostly because its always so fun […]

Leave a Reply

