I [heart] Little People.

No, not the ones who seem to be the latest trend on TLC.

I actually was hesitant to even discuss this website today because… well…  to be honest with you, Mondays tend to be slow readership days and I really really really like this site. But lucky for you, I change my mind. And I will now introduce you to very unique blog:


Little People features gorgeous, artistic, clever (the list goes on and on) photos of “little handpainted people, left in London to fend for themselves.”

The first image shown in each series is that of a normal, everyday(ish) scene with normal everyday(ish) people. Then, it backs up and you start to notice the setting and difference in scale. Finally, you are far enough back that you can’t even see the people (unless you were really looking) and you realize you are just staring at a photo of some nondescript ally or deserted sidewalk.

Sometimes it seems like the photos are all in good fun- for the entertainment of both the artist and the viewers. Other times, however, there are definately undertones full of social commentary and symbolism. Check it out – decide for yourself!

Here are some of my favorites:

 
 







Okay okay I don’t want to show them ALL to you! Visit the blog yourself and check it out! The site has actually just published a book called “Little People in the City: The Street Art of Slinkachu.” I think this would make a GREAT coffee table book!! a GREAT one! (I think I might have to purchase it… not gunna lie.)

Which photograph series was your favorite?!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “I [heart] Little People.

  1. Kristen says:

    Oooh I like this! Very cool, and I definitely agree on the coffee table book idea. My favorite is this one is the “high as a kite” one from June 2009. This is such a cool site, good find!

Leave a Reply

