What the Dooce!

Not gunna lie… sorta having an off day… but to get me in a better mood, and fulfill my promise to introduce you to a new website/blog every (work) day, I have decided to share with you to a blog filled with a whole lot of awesome ‘tude:

Dooce.


Dooce is a blog that was started by Heather Armstrong (seen above with her adorbs hubby), an ex-web designer who, after being fired from her job, became a full time blogger! Oh the life (I mean… wouldn’t that be AWESOME?!)! Here is a little excerpt from her “About ” section. It was honestly this excerpt that originally caught my interest:

After teaching myself HTML, I moved to Los Angeles, California where I worked as a web designer for drug-addicted executives and discovered what life was like as a recovering Mormon. Meaning life was filled with PowerPoint templates and lethal amounts of tequila. I dated several actors and met a handful of celebrities. Everything you’ve ever heard about Los Angeles is absolutely true, especially the parts about traffic and actors: they really are that bad.

It was during my stay in Los Angeles that I started this website as a hobby. In February 2001, I launched dooce.com as a place to write about pop culture, music, and my life as a single woman. I never expected more than a couple of dozen people to read it. A year later I was fired from my job for this website because I had written stories that included people in my workplace. My advice to you is BE YE NOT SO STUPID… (more)

That was all it took for me to become a fan. And if you read more, you find out that she has been through some crazy sh*t. And has come out on TOP! She was named one of the The Most Influential Women in Media (#26) by Forbes, and has written a bunch of books!

Dooce is the perfect peek into someone’s life. I love how her blog lets her followers (over 300,000 of them!) know that they are not alone in their crazy lives. I love her sarcastic humor, writing style, home videos, and photo peeks/teasers! I love the whole thing. And when I grow up I wanna be Heather Armstrong. Or at least someone equally as awesome.

I know I’m starting to sound a bit psycho… but baaaassssiiicallly… I am a fan. I wonder what she calles her fans. Maybe “Doocers.” If that’s the case, then I will don the Doocer badge with pride.

Need a pick-me-up, get-involved-in-a-strangers-life kinda distraction (I mean who doesn’t?! I know you spend half the day stalking people on Facebook.)? Read through her blog, check out the pictures of her GORGEOUS family, dogs, and style.

Become as obsessed as me.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “What the Dooce!

  1. Kristen says:

    I checked out her website a few months ago, but I haven’t really been able to get into it. I’m not quite sure why, because I loved reading her “about me” section, but I just can’t seem to get into the rest of her blog. Maybe cause I don’t identify with her enough, who knows.

    That said, I like how you said you wanted to be Heather Armstrong when you grow up. I feel the same way about Stephanie Nielson of The NieNie Dialogues. It’s good we can find people/blogs/both that we can look up to. 🙂

  2. Emily,

    Nice find!

    Like Kristen, I found the “about me” section intriguing. Can you imagine generating enough advertising revenue that your spouse could quit their job? Now that’s cool. She must have a huge following, there are 130+ comments on her most recent post.

    -Stephen

  3. Clare says:

    awesome find!! Wow I would love to be a professional blogger! I am both inspired and jealous of this woman!

Leave a Reply

