Life is one big improv show.

Or so they say.

To start off the week, (and get you through Mundane Monday) I want to introduce you to a website that  will help lift your spirits and start your week off right. The site films actors/participants performing types of improv out in the real world and then shares them online.

The website is called Improv Everywhere.


Based in New York CityImprov Everywhere gets random people (volunteers and actors) to do crazy things to amuse/confuse/entertain innocent bystanders,taping it for others (who were not lucky enough to be there) to enjoy, as well. The improv “missions,” as they call them, range from musical numbers, to funny events, and planned/timed weird behaviors for the masses (not really sure what else to call that last one).

In their own words:

“Improv Everywhere is, at its core, about having fun. We’re big believers in “organized fun.” Our missions are a fun source of entertainment for the participants, those who happen to see us live, and those who read this website. We get satisfaction from coming up with an awesome idea and making it come to life…”

I seriously love watching these videos. I’ll admit… some are funnier than others, but they all at least make me smile. What a great concept/project. Why can’t iiiiii think of something like that!?

Maybe one of these days, I’ll sign up to be a part of Improv Everywhere’s “scene causing” movement. Sounds like a BLAST! Until then, I will just have to check back to the website every so often to watch the latest and greatest.

Here are a few of my favorite videos:

What is your favorite video on the site? Would LOVE to hear your opinions!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Life is one big improv show.

  1. Hannah says:

    My favorite is definitely the 5 minute freeze in Grand Central Station

  2. feargy says:

    BIG BIG fan of MP3 Experiment. Kind of wish their wasn’t the corporate thanks at the end, but hey! Total gold.

    Feargy
    http://anactorslife.wordpress.com

  3. Clare says:

    okay I am not even going to click on one of these videos until I am home from work. Every time you introduce me to a link I get lost in the site for hours! lol!

  4. Clare says:

    by lost, I mean distracted by, i love it, etc

  5. jrworksts says:

    Too bad my work blocks videos 😦 I remember the video where they break out into song and dance in the middle of the mall food court … Nice

  6. […] funny, humor, humour, improv, jokes, language, life, new old friends, theatre Yesterday I found the this blog which features clips from improv everywhere and it amused me greatly. I just thought that today I […]

Leave a Reply

