I love free stuff.

I LOVE free stuff.  aaaand I love visual stuff…. like fonts for instance!

Dafont.com is the place to find both of these loves and… believe me… it is a gold mine.

 
 
Dafont.com is a website that consists entirely of FREE fonts for you to download! They are all submitted by visitors/frequenters of the site and are great for a variety of projects including scrapbooks, postcards, letterhead, and oooh… maybe CHRISTMAS CARDS! Search by look: fancy, foreign, techno, bitmap, gothic, basic, script, dingbats and holiday. Yes, they even have an entire section dedicated solely to the Holidays! (see below)

 

Honestly, I could spend all day just scrolling through the hundreds of fonts, downloading at will… in hopes that I come up with something to create worthy of the gorgeous letters. It’s definitely a time sucker (in a good way) and hey… I don’t know about you… but picking fonts is part of my JOB! Soooooo I can search dafont.com and justify why!

There are many other free font websites out there including: 50 High Quality Free Fonts…, Urbanfonts.com, and 1001 Free Fonts… but personally, I prefer Dafont.com (with Urbanfonts.com coming in second). In my opinion, Dafont is the most straight-forward site to use/browse and has a great/diverse selection.

……………….

If you find yourself falling in love with the fonts on Dafont.com as much as I do, and are not sure how to keep them for yourself, I have included quick directions for both PC and Mac users below:

Once you choose a font you want to download, all you have to do is click the “download” button and pick whether you are using a Mac or a PC.

If you are using a PC, I recommend saving the file folder on your desktop. The file will show up in a zip file which you then right click and select “extract files.” Extracting the files will create another folder withOUT the zipper. Open it, and drag your newly downloaded font into your font book that you have already opened (you can find that in your “Control Panel”). The font file is the one that does NOT end in “.txt”

If you are using a Mac, simply click the download button and it will automatically save to your desktop. Then, similarly to a PC (although skipping some steps), open the folder and drag it into your font folder (you can find that in your “Applications”). Again, the font file you drag is the one that does NOT end in “.txt”

Note: Although the fonts are free, many of them have a “donate to the author” button under the “download button.” Do with that what you may. But remember, “tis the season” (and they are giving you AWESOME FREE fonts)

Do you know any great free font websites? I’d love to see what you have discovered!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “I love free stuff.

  1. Nicole says:

    this site is totally my go-to for fonts… love it 🙂

  2. Clare says:

    what?! FREE FONTS?! this is why i love this blog

  3. Matt says:

    I love and use this site frequently. Especially amusing: fonts named or created by people in an aggrivated state (ie profanity or veiled hatred). I will say that a coworker went a little Dafont crazy and downloaded just about every font on there. I would advise against it.

  4. […] fonts and typology and thought I would share a website that allows you to stop searching through Dafont for hours, downloading fonts that are just your handwriting imposters. Follow the simple […]

  5. […] fonts and typology and thought I would share a website that allows you to stop searching through Dafont for hours, downloading fonts that are just your handwriting imposters. Follow the simple […]

Leave a Reply

